Share Next Entry
First post
captain_slinky wrote in geekscouts
Feel free to post your ideas for Geek Scouts here... make a suggestion for a Merit Badge? Should follow a logical progression for three levels of severity - Merit, Silver Level and Gold Level.


Merit - You have seen all three movies.

Silver Level - You have seen all three movies, back-to-back-to-back in a one-day marathon viewing

Gold Level - You have seen all three EXTENDED VERSIONS of the movies, back-to-back-to-back in a one-day marathon viewing, while observing/eating at each of the 7 Hobit meal times (Breakfast, Second Breakfast, Elevenses, Luncheon, Tea, Dinner and Supper).

The only difference between the three badges will be their border. No border for Merit, Silver for Silver Level, Gold for Gold Level.

Why bother?

Why take the time to watch all those movies and eat all that food in one day? Why not just SAY you did it and then wear the badge?

Because we're Geeks. We wear these accomplishments in our daily lives like badges of honor already, why not start gathering IRL pins to display proudly at Geek Gatherings? How cool would it be if you were at a Trivia Night at a local bar, feeling lonely and out of place because the guys from your office dragged you there as their "Secret Weapon", when suddenly across the room you see a person sporting a Silver Level Tarantino Badge? You could become great friends, you may become bitter enemies, you may feel that you need to challenge this Silver Level Tarantino to prove your mettle!

Maybe I'm the only geek who thinks this sounds awesome? Maybe everybody else would just rather keep their badges of Geekdom on-line, behind Facebook profiles where it's safe... I don't know. But hopefully we'll find out :)

  • 1
Whedon badge should definitely include: campaigning to keep a Whedon show on the air and having seen Buffy, Angel, Firefly, Dollhouse, Dr Horrible, Serenity, and the original Buffy movie. Not sure how to break it down.

Participating in a sing-along of Once More With Feeling should perhaps be a part of it.

Whedon Badge, I think, breaks down like this:

MERIT: Have seen every episode of at least two Whedonverse shows (Buffy*, Angel, Firefly*, Dollhouse) plus Doctor Horrible's Sing-Along Blog.

SILVER LEVEL: Have "Powered Through" at least two Whedonverse shows (averaging more than three episodes a day, every day, till you've seen every episode), have seen all 4 series all the way through plus Doctor Horrible.

GOLD LEVEL: Silver Level PLUS have participated in a public Sing-ALong "Once More With Feeling" and /or "Doctor Horrible".

(* = All series include the movies associated, including the original Buffy theatrical movie)

  • 1

Log in

No account? Create an account